Liebster or Bust !!!

Dedicated to Amma, Appa, Minnu, Ammumma and Kamal Hassan (My Hero)

I write this in the tunes of Ilayaraja’s ‘Ninaivo Oru Paravai’ from the movie Sigappu Rojaakkal’ and I don’t know why but I am reminded of the origins of this blog. I was unsure whether this blog would live when I had started to write the first post. Not a lot has come after that but they have certainly come and that is the important thing for me.

‘Endhan Nenjil’ – Kalaignan

Today, this blog is like my child. Nope. It is my child. We have a saying in malayalam : Kaakkaykku Than Kunju Ponn Kunju. And boy, I love my blog so much that I compare it with other blogs and I yell enthusiastically : Phoo! That’s a stupid design. Mine’s better or Ha! My blog should be branded as the perfect blog, and then I proceed to cakewalk a few steps (You’ll faint if you see me dance and that is a proven fact)

‘Kalyana Thaen Nila’ – Mounam Sammadham

And now, this is the moment – my moment

I thank, premièrement, to Karan Sampat not only for awarding me with the Liebster but for the unending support that he offered me. To Anil, Rishi and Paresh, who encouraged me to write. Most importantly, to Appa, for paying the electricity bill so that I am able to maintain this blog.

Here’s how the Liebster Award works:

  1. Thank the Liebster Award presenter who nominated you and link back to his or her blog.

  2. Post 11 facts about yourself, answering the 11 questions you were asked and create 11 questions for your nominees.

  3. Nominate small (no more than 200 followers) blogs who you feel deserved to be noticed and leave a comment on their blog letting them know that they have been chosen.

  4. Display the Liebster Award logo.

  5. No tag-backs, meaning you can’t just re-nominate the person who nominated you.

And so, here are 11 random facts about me

  1. I am a very difficult person to be with. (Ask anyone who knows me well)

  2. I love people. You will find me observing people all the time. (Usually mistaken for Vaaynokkal)

  3. I am more of a listener than a talker, but if I catch at something really interesting then you won’t be able to stop me

  4. I may be a listener but I do express my feelings “especially though strong gestures and facial expressions” (I dunno.. Other people say that.. Not me)

  5. I am sometimes childish (I’m not pretending it. Seriously. I got it from Amma)

  6. During my childhood, constant praises from friends and family instilled in me a desire to become an artist. (I still scribble from time to time)

  7. I have a fear of heights

  8. I am a strong supporter of Linux and despise windows. Not gates though. Just windows.

  9. I think I might have an inferiority complex

  10. I am probably the only person who wears tracksuits to college (Seriously, they are very comfortable)

  11. I hate watching romantic films. My favorite genre is Suspence/Mystery and Humor.

And here’s the answers to Karan’s questions

1. If you had to spend a day as the Prime Minister of India, what would you do?

Watch Mudhalvan my boy.. Watch Mudhalvan

P.S. In the climax, however, I will be gunned down to death as I run away from my arch nemesis as I have a very wide surface area and some jiggly body parts.

2. Which is your favorite past time other than blogging?

I listen to music all the time, read books, watch cinemas.

3. Which is your favorite book?

The book I’m currently reading is my favorite book

4. What is your favorite sweet?

A delicacy called Rasamalai

5. Which is the biggest mistake of your life?

I believe that everything that happens, happens for good.

6. Who is your favorite cartoon character?

I love all the characters in Dexter, Courage the Cowardly Dog, Ed Edd n’ Eddy, Daffy, Yosemite Sam, Detective School Q, Mike Lu n’ Og the whole of the Simpsons family, the Flintstones and many more.

Your childhood might be climbing trees and all.. But I grew up watching cartoons and cartoons only. These people are my Heroes. But there is only one master.

BUGS BUNNY

7. Which genre of music do you enjoy the most?

Not Genre. I do not know any specific genre. But I can give you some names.

A. R. Rahman, Ilayaraja and Vidhyasagar are my favorite.

8. If there happened to be an alien invasion, and you could escape with a person or a thing, then who or what would you take with yourself?

Family and family only. Also my precious books.

9. Which blogger’s work do you savor the most?

I always follow Vandhana’s works (though not recently.. but I will catch up). She is my blogging hero(ine). Another one of my favorite is Murgi Baba’s blog as it really captures India very well (my opinion). Inspiration for my photo blog is Lens Cap. The best in humor is Staggland.

10. After doing what task would you feel that your life’s aim was accomplished?

Call me a bragger but I really want to see some harmony in this entire world. I may or may not be a conduit for this. But it is when this happens then can I say that my life’s aim was accomplished.

A more selfish answer would be to work with Kamal Hassan, Mammooty, Mohanlal and Maniratnam (Not all together, but that would be super too)

And here are the questions for the nominees

  1. What do your friends and family think about your blog?

  2. If you must tell someone your secret – a scary embarrassing secret – who would that someone be?

  3. What makes you laugh your head out?

  4. If you could change three things about yourself – be it physically or mentally or anything – what would it be?

  5. What are your “philosophies” that you strictly adhere (or atleast try) to? (Eg. I must not tell a lie, I must not cheat etc)

  6. Name three films or three books (or both) that changed your life

  7. Name three films (or books) that you despise

  8. What Myer-Brigg type are you?

    Take the test here

  9. Do you think that the type that you got above actually describes you?

  10. Name three of your favorite authors and three favorite directors

  11. Inevitable question : Why do you blog? What got you into it? And how’s the experience?

My nominees for the Liebster Award are

  1. Vikas Khair – http://vikaskhair.blogspot.in/

  2. Paresh Palicha – http://pareshpalicha.blogspot.in/

  3. Rishikesh Bhat – http://rishikeshbhat7.blogspot.in/

  4. The Chaos Within – http://narmadhaa.com/

  5. Grishma – http://grishmabalani.wordpress.com/

  6. Krishna – http://krishnachopra.blogspot.in/

  7. StaggLand – http://www.staggland.com

  8. Murgi Baba – http://murgibaba.blogspot.in/

  9. Ashik M S – http://crazythoughts-ms.blogspot.in/

  10. Sridev – http://sridevblog.blogspot.in/

  11. Anil Krishnanunni – http://forlornvagabond.blogspot.in/

(Those who already have a Liebster too can continue the chain if you want. But if you are unwilling, you can at least answer the questions and write 11 random facts about yourself in the comments section of this post)

16 thoughts on “Liebster or Bust !!!

    • Haha….Pinnaallathey… ‘Vaaynokkunnathu’ polish cheythu “observing people” aaki… 😉
      And thanks for stopping by here… Do visit again…

  1. Congratulations, and thank you for the nomination.
    As for your questions, my answers are-
    1. My friends and family don’t know I blog.
    2. My best friend
    3. India
    4. Physically, 10 years younger. Mentally, 10 years smarter. Materially- 10 times richer.
    5. Be the friend you want to have
    6. The Godfather (Book), Vernon God Little (Book), The Good, The Bad & The Ugly
    7. The Notebook, Aisha, Home for the Holidays
    8. ESTJ
    9. Nope
    10. Alfred Hitchcock, Billy Wilder, Martin Scorsese. Mario Puzo, John Sanford, Issac Asimov.
    11. Why I blog- As a creative outlet. What got me into it- I got into it because I was at that time in an unsatisfying and frustrating job, which I quit and you have probably seen the resignation letter posted on my blog. Experience- So far, not so good. Still waiting to be discovered by the masses.

    Thanks once again for the nomination. It’s my second one and it means a lot. I can’t technically accept it because I want to actually get some hits on my website before I start treating myself to these awards. But thanks once again, keep blogging, and aiming for the big traffic.

    • hehe,…. nice replies… i love hitchcock and scorsese too… m wanting to read some asimov… the answer to what makes you laugh is humorous at the same time, sad.. 🙂
      ‘Be the friend you want to have’ is a really good quote… can i use it in fb?
      You too keep blogging and enlightening 🙂
      God Bless
      P.S. you forgot to say 11 random things about you… if you are feeling uncomfortable though, don’t post it…. ( considering the secretiveness of your identity and all that…) 🙂
      God Bless once more… 🙂

  2. Congrats, Aadi 🙂 Those are some thoughtful answers ! Observing people is very interesting. Although sometimes I get caught in the process 😀
    Thank you for mentioning me in the post. I am extremely glad that you like my blog.
    Looking forward to read your posts too 🙂 🙂
    Happy blogging ! 🙂

    P.S : Isn’t ninaivo oru paravi the best song ever ! I love it !

    • OMG… Sorry for the late reply… I had intended to respond but I guess I forgot.. 😛
      Really sorry 😦
      First of all, I have to say that I love your works… There is something personal and beautiful in your words… They create a sort of an imprint in the reader’s mind and heart (at least it did in mine 🙂 ). No need of any thanks 🙂
      P.S. One cannot simply narrow down the best of Ilayaraja… I love ninaivo, endhan nenjil, injieedupazhagi, thenpaandi cheemayile, poongattu, ilaya nila, enna satham…
      All these are closer to my heart…
      P.P.S. I had gone through some of your earlier posts and stumbled upon the one about heights… Thing is, when I saw your picture i pictured you as quite tall… well… it’s just me i think… 😀

Leave a Reply

